What TDI Do I Have – Jetta & Golfs

MkVI, Mark 4, A4, Mk6, NMS….ALH, BEW, BHW, CJAA – The many VW engine and model codes can be confusing.  In this article we’ll help you sort through it and determine which model you have.

You’ll hear VWs referred to by chassis (A1, A3, B4, etc.). This code refers to both the size of the platform, with A being the smallest in the US, B the next size, and there are also larger platforms (like the Phaeton) that are not TDIs here. The number refers to the generation of the car, 1 being first generation, 2 second, and so on. So an A1 is the smallest platform sold in the US and the first generation. This was the 1975-1984 Rabbit.

VW has sold a lot of platforms and generations here, but only a few with TDIs. Here’s a guide to the platforms and engines in VW TDIs in North America. There are two basic engine types, rotary pump and PD (Pumpe Deuse). The engine codes for each platform are also listed below.

VW A3 Platform



  • Jetta TDI in model years 1997, 1998, and first half of 1999.

These are all rotary pump cars, mostly with engine code AHU. Some early A3s (1997 only) have a very similar engine with the code 1Z. With the exception of some internal engine parts the AHU and1Z engine components are interchangeable. All have manual transmissions.

A4 Platform – Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle



  • Jetta sedan TDI from model year 1999.5 through the first half of 2005
  • New Beetle from 1998 to 2006
  • Jetta Wagon TDI from 2002 to 2005 (2006 in Canada)
  • Golf TDI from 1999.5 through 2006.

All A4 models switched to Pumpe Deuse (PD) engines from model year 2004 on.

Engine Codes:

  • 1999.5-2003: Rotary engine code ALH
    2004-2005 Jetta, 2004-2006 Golf and New Beetle, Pumpe Deuse engine code BEW.

A5 Platform – Mk5 Jetta


Models & Engines:

  • Jetta Sedan from 2005.5 – 2006, Engine Code BRM (1.9L “Pumpe-Deuse”)
  • Jetta Sedan 2009-2010, Engine Code CBEA or CJAA (2.0L common rail)
  • Sportwagen 2009-2010, Engine Code CBEA or CJAA (2.0L common rail)

The A5 was produced in 2005 and 2006, had a special including special ‘diesel’ edition Jetta in late 2006. Some of these cars are actually 2007 model year cars sold as 2006s. The 2005.5 and 2006 cars all have Pumpe Deuse engines with code BRM. There were no TDIs sold in the US in model years 2007 or 2008. The 2009 “Clean Diesel” is a Common Rail engine with code CBEA or CJAA.

VW Mk6 Golf & Sportwagen


The MkVI Golf was introduced in 2010 though it was largely a refreshed A5 platform Jetta and Rabbit.  It is instantly recognizable by its new front-end and headlights design.  This front end is shared by the 2010 and up Sportwagen as well, although it wasn’t until 2011 that the Sportwagen moved its platform up a generation.


  • 2010+ Golf TDI, Engine Code CJAA (2.0L, “clean diesel” common-rail TDI)
  • 2011-2014 Sportwagen TDI, Engine Code CJAA (also referred to as the Jetta Sportwagen)

VW Mk6 Jetta


In 2011 VW introduced an all-new Jetta on a modified A5 platform.  One highlight of the 2011+ Jetta was the reintroduction of a single rear-beam suspension rather than the independent rear suspension on the original A5 Jetta.  Later on in 2013 VW upgraded the rear back to IRS.

In 2015 the Mk6 Jetta received a facelift and an engine upgrade.

The 2011 Jetta TDI was available with the same 2.0L common-rail, “clean diesel” TDI (engine code CJAA) as the MkVI Golf.


  • 2011-2014 Jetta TDI, Engine Code CJAA
  • 2015+ Jetta TDI, Engine Code CVCA

MQB Platform – Mk7 Golf & Golf Wagon


The 2015 Golf and Wagon were the first models to be introduced that used the new VW “MQB” platform.  Read more about the MQB Platform.  The Mk7 Golf is lighter and stronger than the outgoing Mk6 and also came with the new EA288 series engine that was more powerful, more efficient and used AdBlue Diesel Exhaust Fluid.

As of the Mk7 generation the wagon version was no longer a “Jetta” or “Sportwagen” but simply the “Golf Wagon”.


  • Mk7 Golf (2-door/4-door/Wagon)




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.